The John Day bursary


The British Chapter of the IAH awards a bursary to support students in undertaking hydrogeology-related fieldwork outside Great Britain as part of their postgraduate studies.

The bursary is named in honour of John Day, former Chief Hydrogeologist of the BGS and dedicated member of IAH, being a member of the organising committee of the first UK Congress in 1977; chair of the UK national committee when the Cambridge Congress was held in 1985, and Vice President of IAH from 1984 to 1993.

Open to postgraduate students studying at any university in Great Britain, the bursary reflects John Day’s commitment to the need for the science of hydrogeology to serve society at home and internationally.


The bursary has a value of £750, and the successful applicant will receive a 1 year free membership of IAH. The bursary winner will also be invited to submit a poster for presentation at the Ineson Lecture 2018, to be held at the Geological Society, London on 29 November 2018.

Applications for the bursary should comprise a brief (1500 words maximum) description of the proposed project, to include an outline of the overall project plan, location and nature of fieldwork to be carried out, and the objectives of the project. Each university will be limited to one application, which should be submitted via the relevant course director.

Applications should be submitted as a Word document to Richard Cheal ([email protected]) by the closing date of 7 May 2018. The project submissions will be reviewed by the committee of the IAH British Chapter.  Applicants will be notified by 18 May 2018.


The 2017 award went to Rachael Fletcher, MSc Hydrogeology Course, University of Birmingham for her project: Determining the Hydraulic Behaviour of a Greenschist Metasediment Aquifer, Malaysia.

The 2016 award went to David Walker to support his project: The vulnerability of the shallow groundwater resource in Molototsi catchment, Limpopo Province, South Africa.

The 2015 award went to Helen Robinson to support her fieldwork investigating geothermal resources at the Menengai Caldera in the East African Rift Valley, Kenya.

The 2014 award went to Richard Cheal for his project: An evaluation of basic geophysical and borehole logging approaches for improving borehole placement and wellbore construction: A case study examining a saline-contaminated fluvial aquifer in southern Malawi.

The 2013 award went to Amando Borge Izquierdo for his research project: Study of the capability of artificial recharge to reduce seasonal differences in groundwater accessibility and improve the development of permaculture through a better understanding of groundwater in the Shire Valley Alluvial Aquifer in Malawi.

The 2011 award went to Tahir Nagji for his work on: Groundwater – surface water interactions and biogeochemical conditions in coastal forest ecosystem subject to be harvested in coastal British Columbia, Canada.