Ineson Lecture

The Ineson Lecture is our flagship annual event and is held in conjunction with the Hydro Group of the Geological Society. The lecture features a keynote speaker of international standing, supported by speakers and poster presentations from around the UK.

See information for the 2018 Ineson Lecture.

Find information from previous Ineson lectures:

Ineson 2017

Ineson 2015

Ineson 2014

The Ineson Lecture is named after Dr Jack Ineson, who:

“…will always be associated with introducing quantitative methods to British hydrogeology. A geologist with a sound knowledge of mathematics and statistics, unusual for the time, he seized the opportunity in 1948 to apply to British aquifers the burgeoning theory of well hydraulics initiated by Theis. Ineson’s career was mainly spent with the Geological Survey of Great Britain, now the British Geological Survey, but in the period 1965-1970 as Chief Geologist of the Water Resources Board. It was, however, a relatively short career with the start postponed by the Second World War and tragically truncated in June 1970 as a direct consequence of his experiences in the war.”

From ’200 years of British Hydrogeology’ (Geological Society Special Publication Date, 2004)


These are all the Ineson lecturers since the inaugural meeting in 1991:

1991  James P Gibb, AGSE, National Water Well Association, USA

1992 Dr Dick Downing, ex BGS and Water Resources Board, UK

1993 Professor Dr Emilio Custodio Gimena, Univ Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain

1994  Dr Mary Jo Baedecker, US Geological Survey, Virginia, USA

1995  Professor Ghislain de Marsily, Laboratoire de Geologie Appliqueé, Univ Paris VI, France

1996  Professor John Lloyd, University of Birmingham, UK

1997  Professor Thomas Christiansen, Technical University, Lyngby, Denmark

1998 Professor Steven Gorelick, University of Berkley, California, USA

1999  Professor Stephen Foster, British Geological Survey, UK

2000  David Grey, World Bank

2001  Professor Mike Edmunds, University of Oxford, UK

2002  Professor John Cherry, University of Waterloo, Canada

2003  Professor John Barker, University College London, UK

2004  Professor Tony Appelo, Netherlands

2005  Dr Leonard Konikow, USGS, US

2006  Andrew Skinner, ex. Environment Agency, UK

2007  Professor Peter Fritz, UFZ-Umweltforschungszentrum, Leipzig, Germany

2008  Dr Wang Jinxia, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

2009  Professor Denis Peach, British Geological Survey, UK

2010  Professor Nico Goldscheider, Technische Universität München, Germany

2011  Professor Ian White, Australian National University, Australia

2012  Professor Paul Younger, University of Glasgow, UK

2013  Professor Poul Bjerg, Technical University of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark

2014 Professor James F. Barker, University of Waterloo, Canada

2015 Professor David Lerner, University of Sheffield, UK

2016 Professor Georg Teutsch, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Leipzig

2017 Dr Callist Tindimugaya, Ministry of Water and Environment, Uganda